×

Do you want to link to the external site and leave Amgen.ca?

You are now leaving the Amgen Canada website. Please note that the information you are about to view may not comply with Canadian regulatory requirements. Marketing authorizations and availability of products may differ between Canada and other countries.

×

Do you want to link to our other external sites and leave Amgen.ca?

You are now leaving the Amgen Canada website. Please note that the information you are about to view may not comply with Canadian regulatory requirements. Marketing authorizations and availability of products may differ between Canada and other countries.

New Research Signals the Danger of Patients Missing Out on Cardiovascular Tests

The COVID-19 pandemic has kept thousands of Canadian patients from receiving critical medical care.1 Some have stayed away from going to the ER when they have serious health issues, unrelated to the pandemic, out of fear of contracting the virus.2 Others have faced barriers to medical care, such as temporary cancellations of essential medical procedures at hospitals that were swamped with COVID-19 patients.3

Now healthcare researchers are assessing and measuring the impacts of those disruptions — including what they could mean for patients’ heart health.

A new study has revealed an alarming drop in cardiovascular disease screening during the pandemic. Published in the Journal of the American College of Cardiology, dozens of medical researchers on six continents who serve on a committee of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) report that COVID-19 has been associated with a significant and sudden drop worldwide in cardiovascular diagnostic testing.4

Dr. Paolo Raggi of the Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute in Edmonton was the lead Canadian involved in the IAEA committee, which included experts in clinical cardiology and cardiac imaging from around the world.5

He said the present study was “initially devised to be an entirely different investigation, and then it pivoted when COVID started.”

Last spring, the committee began to question whether patients were missing out on cardiac diagnostics during the first wave of the COVID-19 pandemic. They asked clinics around the world to report on how many patients were receiving common diagnostic procedures, including transthoracic echocardiography and transesophageal echocardiography, cardiac magnetic resonance (CMR), and stress testing.

6

Surveys came back from 909 medical facilities that perform cardiovascular diagnostic procedures in 108 countries. They showed that procedure volumes had fallen 42 per cent from March 2019 to March 2020, and a staggering 64 per cent from March 2019 to April 2020.7

“The results were quite shocking,” Dr. Raggi said. “Most of the tests that I use to diagnose heart disease had dropped in volume — anywhere between 40 and 80 per cent, depending on what type of test we were looking at.”

The causes, he said, were twofold: patients’ fear of contagion keeping them away from medical appointments and settings, and interruptions to healthcare caused by the pandemic. “Systems had to shut down to avoid being overrun by patients with COVID-19,” he said.

Dr. Raggi said the chief worry for him and other healthcare professionals is that cardiovascular disease that would already have been caught under ordinary circumstances remains undetected because of the pandemic. And, because they’re not being treated now, those patients could face more serious issues by the time they finally get care. “If we delay diagnosis, and we delay meeting with patients, we could condemn a lot of people to suffer long-term consequences from overlooked cardiovascular conditions,” he said.

While the IAEA study noted that lower-income countries were most affected by COVID-19-related disruptions to cardiovascular diagnostic testing,8 another study, published in the Canadian Journal of Cardiology, focuses on the domestic situation in Canada. It affirms that cardiovascular testing and procedures remained a challenge close to home during the first wave of the pandemic due to dramatically increased wait times.9

“Hospitals and ambulatory facilities significantly reduced cardiac care delivery in preparation for a surge of COVID-19,” says the study, which was authored by 31 healthcare professionals from across the country. “Procedures such as noninvasive diagnostic tests … and cardiac surgeries were severely restricted, performed only on an urgent or emergency basis.”10

11

As the pandemic continues, the Canadian study suggests healthcare systems to adopt an approach that balances the need for health care resources to ensure COVID-19 surge capacity with “continued delivery of needed cardiovascular care.”12

It makes several recommendations for how to achieve this, including having the government prioritize and invest in enhancing the capacity of remote health care infrastructure across the country. It also suggests local health centres consider establishing expert panels to oversee the processes of triaging cardiac tests to ensure they are given based on appropriate indications and urgency, in line with local capacity and expertise.13

14

The Canadian Cardiovascular Society, meanwhile, is running a research project to measure the impact of public health and jurisdictional government policies on cardiovascular care in the context of the pandemic in Canada to help inform future health policy and planning needed to reduce the CV health consequences of current and future waves of COVID-19 at the population health level. The initiative includes a Cardiovascular Care Dashboard, which researchers regularly update to display the number of cardiac procedures, hospitalizations and deaths during the pandemic.15

Dr. Raggi agreed that healthcare professionals, patients and other stakeholders would be wise to remember the importance of heart health even as the pandemic continues through a third wave. The COVID-19 situation is serious, he acknowledged, but cardiovascular disease causes millions of deaths around the world each year.


1 https://www.cbc.ca/news/health/covid-emergency-department-surgery-cihi-1.5808191
2 https://www.ctvnews.ca/health/coronavirus/hidden-death-toll-doctors-say-people-dying-as-they-avoid-ers-due-to-covid-fears-1.4902055
3 https://www.cbc.ca/news/health/covid-emergency-department-surgery-cihi-1.5808191
4 International Impact of COVID-19 on the Diagnosis of Heart Disease (p. 173)
5 International Impact of COVID-19 on the Diagnosis of Heart Disease (p. 174)
6 International Impact of COVID-19 on the Diagnosis of Heart Disease (Page 176)
7 International Impact of COVID-19 on the Diagnosis of Heart Disease (p. 173, 176)
8 International Impact of COVID-19 on the Diagnosis of Heart Disease (p. 173)
9 Cardiovascular Care Delivery During the Second Wave of COVID-19 in Canada (p. 1)
10 Cardiovascular Care Delivery During the Second Wave of COVID-19 in Canada (p. 2)
11 Cardiovascular Care Delivery During the Second Wave of COVID-19 in Canada (Page 3)
12 Cardiovascular Care Delivery During the Second Wave of COVID-19 in Canada (Page 3)
13 Cardiovascular Care Delivery During the Second Wave of COVID-19 in Canada (p. 3)
14 Cardiovascular Care Delivery During the Second Wave of COVID-19 in Canada (Page 2, 3)
15 https://c3i.app/ - Tableau de bord des soins cardiovasculaires
16 Maladies cardiovasculaires

© 2016-2019 Amgen Inc. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy Terms of Use

×

Voulez-vous vous connecter au Site Externe quitter www.amgen.ca?

Vous quittez maintenant le site Web d’Amgen. Veuillez prendre note que les renseignements auxquels vous aurez bientôt accès pourraient ne pas être conformes aux exigences réglementaires canadiennes. Les autorisations en matière de commercialisation et la disponibilité des produits peuvent différer entre le Canada et d’autres pays.

×

Voulez-vous vous connecter au d'autres sites externes et quitter www.amgen.ca?

Vous quittez maintenant le site Web d’Amgen. Veuillez prendre note que les renseignements auxquels vous aurez bientôt accès pourraient ne pas être conformes aux exigences réglementaires canadiennes. Les autorisations en matière de commercialisation et la disponibilité des produits peuvent différer entre le Canada et d’autres pays.

De nouvelles études soulèvent les dangers de manquer des tests cardiovasculaires

La pandémie de COVID-19 a empêché des milliers de patients canadiens d’obtenir des soins médicaux critiques1. Certains sont restés à l’écart de services d’urgence même s’ils souffraient de problèmes de santé graves, non liés à la pandémie, de peur de contracter le virus2. D’autres se sont heurtés à des obstacles à l’obtention de soins médicaux, comme l’annulation temporaire d’interventions médicales essentielles dans les hôpitaux accablés de patients souffrant de la COVID-193. Maintenant, les chercheurs évaluent et mesurent les répercussions de ces perturbations — y compris leurs incidences potentielles sur la santé cardiaque des patients.

Une étude révèle la chute alarmante du dépistage de maladies cardiovasculaires pendant la pandémie. Publiée dans le Journal of the American College of Cardiology, cette étude, menée par des douzaines de chercheurs médicaux qui sont issus de six continents et siègent à un comité de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AIEA), démontre que la COVID-19 est liée à une chute considérable et soudaine, mondialement, du nombre de tests de diagnostic des maladies cardiovasculaires4.

Dr Paolo Raggi, du Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute à Edmonton, est le représentant canadien au comité de l’AIEA, qui regroupe des experts en cardiologie clinique et en imagerie cardiaque des quatre coins du globe5. Il mentionne que l’étude en question « visait initialement un objectif entièrement différent, mais a changé de cap lorsque la pandémie de COVID-19 a débuté ».

Le printemps dernier, le comité a commencé à se demander si les patients avaient raté des tests de diagnostic cardiaques pendant la première vague de la pandémie. Il a demandé à des cliniciens, à l’échelle mondiale, de lui faire part du nombre de patients ayant obtenu des procédures diagnostiques courantes, comme des échocardiographies transthoraciques, des échocardiographies transoesophagiennes, des résonances magnétiques cardiaques et des épreuves à l’effort.

6

Le comité a reçu une réponse de la part de 909 installations médicales effectuant des procédures diagnostiques cardiovasculaires dans 108 pays. Ces réponses ont fait état d’une chute de 42 pour cent du volume de ces procédures entre mars 2019 et mars 2020, et d’une diminution phénoménale de 64 pour cent entre mars 2019 et avril 20207.

« Ces résultats étaient très déconcertants », déclare Dr Raggi. « Le volume de la majorité des tests que j’utilise pour diagnostiquer les maladies cardiaques avait fléchi de 40 à 80 pour cent, tout dépendant du test utilisé. »

Selon lui, deux causes expliquaient cet état de fait : la peur de contagion des patients, qui les a incités à annuler leurs rendez-vous et à rester à l’écart des milieux médicaux, et l’interruption des soins de santé en raison de la pandémie. « Les systèmes médicaux ont freiné leurs activités pour éviter d’être submergés par des patients atteints de COVID-19 », conclut-il.

Selon Dr Raggi, la principale crainte, pour lui et les autres spécialistes de la santé, réside dans la possibilité que les maladies cardiovasculaires qui auraient été décelées dans des circonstances normales restent non détectées en raison de la pandémie. Et, comme ils ne reçoivent aucun traitement en ce moment, ces patients pourraient être confrontés à des problèmes plus sérieux quand ils obtiendront finalement des soins. « Si nous attendons pour poser des diagnostics et pour voir les patients, nous risquons de condamner de nombreuses personnes à subir des conséquences à long terme en raison de conditions cardiovasculaires négligées », dit-il.

Bien que, selon l’étude de l’AIEA, les pays à faible revenu aient été les plus touchés par la perturbation des tests de diagnostic cardiovasculaires liés à la COVID-198, une autre étude, publiée dans le Journal canadien de cardiologie, s’attarde à la situation au Canada. Elle affirme que l’augmentation radicale des temps d’attente pour les tests de diagnostic et les interventions cardiovasculaires pendant la première vague de la pandémie ont causé des problèmes au pays9.

« Les hôpitaux et les services de soins ambulatoires ont considérablement réduit leurs prestations de soins cardiaques en prévision d’un afflux de patients souffrant de la COVID-19 », révèle cette étude, qui a été rédigée par 31 spécialistes de la santé d’un bout à l’autre du pays. « Des interventions telles que des tests de diagnostic non effractifs … et les chirurgies cardiaques ont été considérablement restreintes, ayant été seulement effectuées en cas d’urgence. »10

11

Vu que la pandémie se poursuit, l’étude canadienne suggère l’adoption, par les systèmes de soins de santé, d’une approche visant à concilier la nécessité d’offrir des ressources d’intervention rapide pour la COVID-19 avec celle de « continuer à fournir les soins cardiovasculaires requis12 ».

Elle fournit plusieurs recommandations à cet effet, dont la suggestion que le gouvernement donne priorité à l’accroissement de la capacité de l’infrastructure de soins à distance en y investissant d’un bout à l’autre du pays. Elle suggère aussi que les centres de santé locaux créent des tribunes d’experts pour superviser le processus de triage des tests cardiaques afin de veiller à ce qu’ils soient réalisés en fonction des indications approuvées et du niveau d’urgence, et conformément à la capacité et à l’expertise locales13.

14

Pour sa part, la Société canadienne de cardiologie a entrepris un projet de recherche pour mesurer l’impact des politiques de santé publique et des politiques gouvernementales juridictionnelles sur les soins cardiovasculaires dans le contexte de la pandémie au Canada, le tout dans le but d’orienter les politiques et la planification en matière de santé et de réduire les conséquences, sur la santé cardiovasculaire de la population, des vagues actuelles et futures de la COVID-19. Cette initiative comporte un Tableau de bord des soins cardiovasculaires, que les chercheurs mettent à jour régulièrement pour y afficher le nombre d’interventions, d’hospitalisations et de décès de nature cardiaque pendant la pandémie15.

Dr Raggi affirme que les spécialistes de la santé, les patients et les autres parties prenantes ont intérêt à tenir compte de l’importance de la santé cardiaque en dépit de la troisième vague de la pandémie. Il reconnaît que la situation entourant la COVID-19 est grave, mais ajoute que les maladies cardiovasculaires causent des millions de décès à l’échelle mondiale chaque année16.

1 https://www.cbc.ca/news/health/covid-emergency-department-surgery-cihi-1.5808191
2 https://www.ctvnews.ca/health/coronavirus/hidden-death-toll-doctors-say-people-dying-as-they-avoid-ers-due-to-covid-fears-1.4902055
3 https://www.cbc.ca/news/health/covid-emergency-department-surgery-cihi-1.5808191
4 International Impact of COVID-19 on the Diagnosis of Heart Disease (p. 173)
5 International Impact of COVID-19 on the Diagnosis of Heart Disease (p. 174)
6 International Impact of COVID-19 on the Diagnosis of Heart Disease (Page 176)
7 International Impact of COVID-19 on the Diagnosis of Heart Disease (p. 173, 176)
8 International Impact of COVID-19 on the Diagnosis of Heart Disease (p. 173)
9 Cardiovascular Care Delivery During the Second Wave of COVID-19 in Canada (p. 1)
10 Cardiovascular Care Delivery During the Second Wave of COVID-19 in Canada (p. 2)
11 Cardiovascular Care Delivery During the Second Wave of COVID-19 in Canada (Page 3)
12 Cardiovascular Care Delivery During the Second Wave of COVID-19 in Canada (Page 3)
13 Cardiovascular Care Delivery During the Second Wave of COVID-19 in Canada (p. 3)
14 Cardiovascular Care Delivery During the Second Wave of COVID-19 in Canada (Page 2, 3)
15 https://c3i.app/ - Tableau de bord des soins cardiovasculaires
16 Maladies cardiovasculaires

© 2016-2019 Amgen Inc. All rights reserved.

Politique de confidentialité du site Web Modalités d’utilisation