×

Do you want to link to the external site and leave Amgen.ca?

You are now leaving the Amgen Canada website. Please note that the information you are about to view may not comply with Canadian regulatory requirements. Marketing authorizations and availability of products may differ between Canada and other countries.

×

Do you want to link to our other external sites and leave Amgen.ca?

You are now leaving the Amgen Canada website. Please note that the information you are about to view may not comply with Canadian regulatory requirements. Marketing authorizations and availability of products may differ between Canada and other countries.

How a Friendly Moose Named Mary Helps Kids Understand Multiple Myeloma

A diagnosis of multiple myeloma is incredibly difficult news even for the strongest of people. Now imagine you’re a young child facing this information about someone you love and rely on.

Stories can be useful in situations like these. They are a way to safely engage with issues that are challenging to deal with in real life. In this animated video — Mary and the Bravest Grandma in the World — Mary discovers her grandma has been diagnosed with multiple myeloma.

Told from Mary’s perspective, the story is written in language that a young person can relate to. With simple, non-threatening words, Mary learns how multiple myeloma is a disease characterized by periods of relapse and remission1 and she is carefully introduced to concepts like good and bad plasma cells2. She also observes symptoms such as joint pain and feeling out of breath3 and she is shown how treatment is affecting her grandma. At first Mary is sad she can’t spend time with her, but she soon comes to accept the diagnosis.

By the end of the story, Mary feels safe in the knowledge her grandma is receiving treatment. When her grandma is feeling ok, she is happy they can spend time together doing things Mary loves, like playing with building blocks and going to the park. Most importantly, the video is an insight into how such a diagnosis is experienced through the eyes of a young girl.

  1. https://www.myeloma.org.uk/understanding-myeloma/treating-myeloma/treatment-for-relapsed-myeloma/
  2. https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/multiple-myeloma/symptoms-causes/syc-20353378
  3. https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/multiple-myeloma/

© 2016-2019 Amgen Inc. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy Terms of Use

×

Voulez-vous vous connecter au Site Externe quitter www.amgen.ca?

Vous quittez maintenant le site Web d’Amgen. Veuillez prendre note que les renseignements auxquels vous aurez bientôt accès pourraient ne pas être conformes aux exigences réglementaires canadiennes. Les autorisations en matière de commercialisation et la disponibilité des produits peuvent différer entre le Canada et d’autres pays.

×

Voulez-vous vous connecter au d'autres sites externes et quitter www.amgen.ca?

Vous quittez maintenant le site Web d’Amgen. Veuillez prendre note que les renseignements auxquels vous aurez bientôt accès pourraient ne pas être conformes aux exigences réglementaires canadiennes. Les autorisations en matière de commercialisation et la disponibilité des produits peuvent différer entre le Canada et d’autres pays.

Comment une gentille orignale aide les enfants à comprendre le myélome multiple

Un diagnostic de myélome multiple est une nouvelle extrêmement difficile à absorber, même pour les personnes les plus fortes. Imaginez-vous donc un jeune enfant qui l’apprend au sujet d’une personne qu’il aime et dont il dépend.

Les histoires peuvent être utiles dans de telles situations. Elles représentent une façon d’aborder délicatement des enjeux qui sont difficiles à affronter dans la réalité. Dans cette vidéo animée — Marie et la grand-maman la plus brave au monde — Marie apprend que sa grand-maman souffre de myélome multiple.

Racontée de la perspective de Marie, cette histoire est rédigée dans un langage qu’une jeune personne comprendra. À l’aide de mots simples et peu menaçants, Marie apprend que le myélome multiple est une maladie caractérisée par des périodes de rechutes et de rémissions1 et elle est initiée avec délicatesse aux notions de bonnes et mauvaises cellules plasmatiques2. Elle observe aussi des symptômes, tels que les douleurs aux articulations et les essoufflements3 et apprend comment sa grand-maman réagit aux traitements. Au début, Marie est triste de ne pas pouvoir passer du temps avec sa grand-maman, mais elle en vient rapidement à accepter le diagnostic.

À la fin de l’histoire, Marie est rassurée, sachant que sa grand-maman reçoit des traitements. Quand sa grand-maman se sent bien, Marie est contente de pouvoir passer du temps avec elle et réaliser en sa compagnie ses activités préférées, comme jouer aux blocs et aller au parc. Surtout, cette vidéo offre un aperçu de la façon dont une petite fille vit l’annonce d’un tel diagnostic.

  1. https://www.myeloma.org.uk/understanding-myeloma/treating-myeloma/treatment-for-relapsed-myeloma/
  2. https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/multiple-myeloma/symptoms-causes/syc-20353378
  3. https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/multiple-myeloma/

© 2016-2019 Amgen Inc. All rights reserved.

Politique de confidentialité du site Web Modalités d’utilisation