×

Do you want to link to the external site and leave Amgen.ca?

You are now leaving the Amgen Canada website. Please note that the information you are about to view may not comply with Canadian regulatory requirements. Marketing authorizations and availability of products may differ between Canada and other countries.

×

Do you want to link to our other external sites and leave Amgen.ca?

You are now leaving the Amgen Canada website. Please note that the information you are about to view may not comply with Canadian regulatory requirements. Marketing authorizations and availability of products may differ between Canada and other countries.

Canadians must reconnect with healthcare to avoid a ‘COVID-19 ripple effect’

Since at least the fall of 2020, healthcare experts have been warning of a looming health crisis following closely behind the pandemic1. Patients have been missing appointments for screening and treatment for a myriad of health conditions, sometimes because of interruptions in the care available, and sometimes out of fears of contracting COVID-19 outside of their homes.2

Reports started to emerge a few months into the pandemic that many Canadians were missing medical appointments because access to the healthcare system was compromised.3 Take cancer care as one major example: according to a survey commissioned by the Canadian Cancer Survivor Network last summer and published in The Lancet, 54 per cent of Canadian cancer patients reported having their cancer care appointments cancelled, rescheduled or postponed because of COVID-194. Three-quarters of those who are pre-diagnosis or recently diagnosed reported the same.5

Healthcare providers and public health experts are worried about the longer-term consequences of these interruptions. Some have said the “relative neglect of chronic disease management”6 today could cause an unfortunate ripple effect down the road: health issues that aren't being dealt with in a timely way now will create a backlog in the future, when patients finally return to the system.7

Hospitals and clinics have measures in place to restrict the spread of COVID-19, and experts insist that Canadians should be visiting emergency rooms when necessary as they would normally89. Amgen Canada has been helping to make sure patients understand this, and we hope others will also take up this challenge

10,11,12

Amgen Canada has been engaged with this important issue during the pandemic. The desire to help patients is at the core of our corporate culture, and it’s the reason we’ve dedicated resources to getting the message out, to encourage people to stay focused on their regular health needs and appointments, notwithstanding fears they may have about contracting COVID-19.

We’ve also been proud to support the All.Can Canada Initiative, which has been helping Canadians with cancer get the resources they need to continue treatment. In some regions, the program has connected patients with transportation to appointments, for instance.

Unfortunately, however, headlines have continued to show signs of people missing medical appointments due to COVID-19.13 We’re concerned about what this will mean for patient outcomes down the road.

Now that COVID-19 vaccination campaigns are gathering pace in every province and territory, this could be the time for all of us to step up efforts to get patients back to their clinical appointments, by sharing credible information and providing assistance to those who need help setting up or getting to appointments

We hope Canadians who need in-person support will soon reconnect with the healthcare system. When it comes to cancer, for example, screening appointments that were cancelled or postponed earlier in the pandemic may once again be available14. Patients can ask their healthcare providers or check with provincial health authorities to see what the status is where they live.15

Healthcare professionals can also play an important part in encouraging patients to book appointments, get screened and generally reconnect with the healthcare system and their own long-term medical needs. Now is the time to help Canadians get the care they need.


1 https://edmontonjournal.com/news/local-news/collateral-damage-of-covid-19-could-lead-to-second-crisis-in-health-care-ama
2 https://www.cbc.ca/news/health/covid-19-emergency-departments-canada-1.5510778
3 https://angusreid.org/covid19-medical-access/
4 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7377791/
5 https://survivornet.ca/news/cancer-patients-face-double-jeopardy-with-covid-19/
6 https://www.osteoporosis.foundation/sites/iofbonehealth/files/2021-02/Fuggle2021_Article_HowHasCOVID-19AffectedTheTreat.pdf
7 Example: https://globalnews.ca/news/6990904/coronavirus-canadians-medical-appointments/
8 https://www.ctvnews.ca/health/coronavirus/canadian-hospitals-take-drastic-measures-amid-covid-19-crisis-1.4855849
9 https://www.ctvnews.ca/health/don-t-avoid-going-to-the-er-because-of-pandemic-canadians-urged-1.5268577
10 Annals of Oncology – Collateral Damage: The Impact on outcomes from cancer surgery of the COVID-19 pandemic
11 The BMJ – Mortality Due to Cancer Treatment Delay: Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis
12 University of Alberta – Women’s heart health shouldn’t take a backseat to coronavirus
13 Examples:
A) https://globalnews.ca/news/7618837/world-cancer-day-feb-4-2021-coronavirus/
B) https://www.ctvnews.ca/health/coronavirus/hidden-death-toll-doctors-say-people-dying-as-they-avoid-ers-due-to-covid-fears-1.4902055
C) https://www.cihi.ca/en/covid-19-resources/impact-of-covid-19-on-canadas-health-care-systems/covid-19s-effect-on-hospital
14 https://globalnews.ca/news/7693975/coronavirus-ontario-cancer-screenings/
15 Examples:
A) https://www.cancercareontario.ca/en/get-checked-cancer/screening-during-covid-19
B) http://www.bccancer.bc.ca/screening/health-professionals/covid-19-and-cancer-screening
C) https://www.quebec.ca/en/health/advice-and-prevention/screening-and-carrier-testing-offer/quebec-breast-cancer-screening-program/

© 2016-2019 Amgen Inc. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy Terms of Use

×

Voulez-vous vous connecter au Site Externe quitter www.amgen.ca?

Vous quittez maintenant le site Web d’Amgen. Veuillez prendre note que les renseignements auxquels vous aurez bientôt accès pourraient ne pas être conformes aux exigences réglementaires canadiennes. Les autorisations en matière de commercialisation et la disponibilité des produits peuvent différer entre le Canada et d’autres pays.

×

Voulez-vous vous connecter au d'autres sites externes et quitter www.amgen.ca?

Vous quittez maintenant le site Web d’Amgen. Veuillez prendre note que les renseignements auxquels vous aurez bientôt accès pourraient ne pas être conformes aux exigences réglementaires canadiennes. Les autorisations en matière de commercialisation et la disponibilité des produits peuvent différer entre le Canada et d’autres pays.

Les Canadiens doivent réintégrer le système de santé pour éviter « l’effet de ricochet de la COVID-19 »

Depuis au moins l’automne 2020, les experts en matière de soins de santé mettent le public en garde contre la crise qui menace de sévir dans le sillage de la pandémie1. En effet, les patients ont manqué leurs rendez-vous pour le dépistage et le traitement d’une multitude d’états de santé, parfois en raison de l’interruption des soins et parfois de peur de contracter la COVID-19 à l’extérieur de leur domicile2.

Selon certains rapports qui ont commencé à voir le jour quelques mois après le début de la pandémie, de nombreux Canadiens ont manqué leurs rendez-vous médicaux en raison d’un accès compromis au système de soins de santé3. Parmi les principaux exemples, citons les soins oncologiques : selon un sondage commandé par le Réseau canadien des survivants du cancer l’été dernier et publié dans The Lancet, 54 pour cent des patients atteints d’un cancer au Canada ont dit que leurs traitements oncologiques avaient été annulés ou reportés en raison de la COVID-194. Trois quarts de ceux qui attendaient un diagnostic ou qui l’avaient récemment reçu affirment avoir subi le même sort5.

Les fournisseurs de soins de santé et les experts en santé publique sont inquiets des conséquences à long terme de ces interruptions. Certains affirment que « la négligence relative de la gestion des maladies chroniques »6 aujourd’hui pourrait avoir un effet de ricochet regrettable dans l’avenir : les problèmes de santé qui ne sont pas gérés promptement créeront des retards plus tard, lorsque les patients réintégreront enfin le système7.

Les hôpitaux et les cliniques ont adopté des mesures pour limiter la propagation de la COVID-19, et les experts soutiennent que les Canadiens devraient toujours se rendre aux services d’urgence en cas de besoin, comme ils le feraient normalement89. Amgen Canada a déployé des efforts pour aider les patients à comprendre ce qui précède, et nous espérons que d’autres relèveront aussi le défi.

10,11,12

L’entreprise s’est penchée sur cet enjeu important durant la pandémie. Le désir d’aider les patients est au cœur de notre culture d’entreprise, et c’est pourquoi nous avons consacré des ressources à la dissémination de ce message, afin d’encourager les gens à ne pas négliger leurs besoins de santé courants et leurs rendez-vous, nonobstant leur peur de contracter la COVID-19.

Nous sommes également fiers d’appuyer la All.Can Canada Initiative, qui aide les personnes atteintes de cancer à obtenir les ressources nécessaires pour poursuivre leurs traitements. Dans certaines régions, ce programme relie, par exemple, les patients avec des moyens de transport pour leur permettre de se rendre à leurs rendez-vous.

Malheureusement, les manchettes continuent de faire état de rendez-vous médicaux manqués en raison de la COVID-1913. Nous craignons les répercussions de ces décisions pour les patients dans l’avenir.

Maintenant que les campagnes de vaccination contre la COVID-19 prennent de l’ampleur dans chaque province et territoire, le moment pourrait être propice à une intensification des efforts visant à inciter les patients à réintégrer le système de santé en leur fournissant des renseignements crédibles et en offrant de l’aide à ceux qui en ont besoin pour fixer leurs rendez-vous ou s’y rendre.

Nous espérons que les Canadiens qui ont besoin d’un soutien en personne réintégreront le système de santé. Quand il s’agit du cancer, par exemple, les rendez-vous de dépistage qui ont été annulés ou reportés plus tôt dans la pandémie pourraient être de nouveau accessibles14. Les patients devraient se renseigner auprès de leurs fournisseurs de soins ou des autorités de santé provinciales pour connaître le statut de ces services dans leur région15.

Les spécialistes de la santé peuvent également jouer un rôle important pour encourager les patients à prendre des rendez-vous, obtenir un dépistage ou rétablir leurs liens avec le système de santé afin de combler leurs besoins médicaux à long terme. C’est le moment d’aider les Canadiens à obtenir les soins dont ils ont besoin.


1 https://edmontonjournal.com/news/local-news/collateral-damage-of-covid-19-could-lead-to-second-crisis-in-health-care-ama
2 https://www.cbc.ca/news/health/covid-19-emergency-departments-canada-1.5510778
3 https://angusreid.org/covid19-medical-access/
4 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7377791/
5 https://survivornet.ca/news/cancer-patients-face-double-jeopardy-with-covid-19/
6 https://www.osteoporosis.foundation/sites/iofbonehealth/files/2021-02/Fuggle2021_Article_HowHasCOVID-19AffectedTheTreat.pdf
7 Exemple : https://globalnews.ca/news/6990904/coronavirus-canadians-medical-appointments/
8 https://www.ctvnews.ca/health/coronavirus/canadian-hospitals-take-drastic-measures-amid-covid-19-crisis-1.4855849
9 https://www.ctvnews.ca/health/don-t-avoid-going-to-the-er-because-of-pandemic-canadians-urged-1.5268577
10 Annals of Oncology – Collateral Damage: The Impact on outcomes from cancer surgery of the COVID-19 pandemic
11 The BMJ – Mortality Due to Cancer Treatment Delay: Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis
12 University of Alberta – Women’s heart health shouldn’t take a backseat to coronavirus
13 Exemples :
A) https://globalnews.ca/news/7618837/world-cancer-day-feb-4-2021-coronavirus/
B) https://www.ctvnews.ca/health/coronavirus/hidden-death-toll-doctors-say-people-dying-as-they-avoid-ers-due-to-covid-fears-1.4902055
C) https://www.cihi.ca/fr/ressources-sur-la-covid-19/lincidence-de-la-covid-19-sur-les-systemes-de-sante-du-canada/soins-hospitaliers
14 https://globalnews.ca/news/7693975/coronavirus-ontario-cancer-screenings/
15 Exemples:
A) https://www.cancercareontario.ca/fr/la-covid19-et-le-cancer/d%C3%A9pistage-du-cancer-pendant-la-covid-19
B) http://www.bccancer.bc.ca/screening/health-professionals/covid-19-and-cancer-screening
C) https://www.quebec.ca/sante/conseils-et-prevention/depistage-et-offre-de-tests-de-porteur/programme-quebecois-de-depistage-du-cancer-du-sein

© 2016-2019 Amgen Inc. All rights reserved.

Politique de confidentialité du site Web Modalités d’utilisation