×

Do you want to link to the external site and leave Amgen.ca?

You are now leaving the Amgen Canada website. Please note that the information you are about to view may not comply with Canadian regulatory requirements. Marketing authorizations and availability of products may differ between Canada and other countries.

×

Do you want to link to our other external sites and leave Amgen.ca?

You are now leaving the Amgen Canada website. Please note that the information you are about to view may not comply with Canadian regulatory requirements. Marketing authorizations and availability of products may differ between Canada and other countries.

Don’t let bone health fall through the cracks during the pandemic

Bone health is a crucial part of everyone’s overall well-being, and Amgen Canada has long encouraged Canadians and their healthcare providers to adopt a proactive outlook to osteoporosis prevention.

Unfortunately, that’s become more of a challenge during the COVID-19 pandemic, which has caused interruption in routine and preventive health care services1. The International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) warns that many patients have delayed healthcare visits to their doctor, including scheduled and routine visits that would have included discussions and assessments regarding bone density and osteoporosis screening2.

At Amgen we’re concerned about any setback for bone health, and we hope stakeholders and patients across Canada will take notice, too.

‘Concerning’ data for osteoporosis screening and treatment

This isn’t just a Canadian issue. Two recent studies have produced evidence that some aspects of screening and treatment for osteoporosis have taken a back seat during the pandemic for patients on every continent.

In the first article, published in Osteoporosis International3, researchers noted a dramatic falloff in the number of times people accessed the online FRAX fracture risk assessment tool around the world. The falloff coincided with the first wave of the pandemic in many countries.

The FRAX test is an online tool that allows a healthcare provider to walk a patient through a series of questions in order to determine their 10-year risk of an osteoporotic fracture or hip fracture4. (You can read more here about the severity of fragility fractures, and therefore why taking a FRAX test is a wise investment of a few minutes.)

According to the study, the number of FRAX sessions recorded was 58 per cent lower in April 2020(in other words, during the pandemic) than in February 20205(prior to the World Health Organization’s declaration of the pandemic on March 11, 20206). The authors infer that osteoporosis assessment was interrupted during this period for many patients as a result of COVID-19.7

For Canada, the falloff was lower than average, but still worrisome, at roughly 45 per cent8.

The second recent study9 into osteoporosis treatment during the pandemic provides evidence that interruptions in healthcare services and disease management have been experienced as a result of the situation.

Also published in Osteoporosis International, this research involved a global survey of healthcare professionals. It showed that interruptions of screening and care for osteoporosis is a concern around the world. Healthcare providers treating osteoporosis in 53 countries told researchers that during the pandemic they had experienced an interrupted supply of medications, reductions in parenteral (non-oral) medication delivery, and a reduction of bone-density scanning via dual-energy x-ray absorptiometry (DXA).10

Referring to the decline in DXA scans, the authors wrote: “Data from our survey are concerning and suggest that the traditional gold standard assessment11 [for] osteoporosis patients was not performed in the majority of cases during the pandemic.”

Yet it’s not clear that there’s any reason that DXA scans and other procedures should continue to be delayed. “Despite an understandable reticence of patients to attend in-person appointments,” the authors write, “approximately half of healthcare providers believed that there were sufficient safeguards in place to mitigate risk and allow in-person visits.”12

Osteoporosis care during COVID-19

While many patients have avoided medical appointments during the pandemic, seeing the doctor is just as important as ever. That includes visits relating to osteoporosis.

As per the International Osteoporosis Foundation, the world’s largest non-governmental organization dedicated to the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of osteoporosis,13 staying fracture-free is critical for anyone with osteoporosis, especially now with increased strain on the capacities of healthcare systems due to the pandemic.14

“We would also like to reassure people with osteoporosis, and those taking medications to treat osteoporosis, that having osteoporosis does not increase your risk of either contracting coronavirus or having serious complications15,” the IOF urged patients.

Where patient hesitancy or other barriers still exist, telemedicine offers one possible (and partial) remedy. As the study authors note, doctors and other healthcare professionals have seen more patients at a distance since the advent of COVID-1916— and may even continue to do so as the pandemic subsides.

What’s clear is that screening for osteoporosis must get back on track as soon as possible, one way or another. Amgen Canada hopes that healthcare providers and stakeholders will take every opportunity to encourage patients to participate in appropriate osteoporosis ongoing care. Bone health is too important to put off until later.


1 Fuggle 2021 - How has COVID-19 affected the treatment of osteoporosis? An IOF-NOF-ESCEO global survey, page 2
2 Fuggle 2021 - How has COVID-19 affected the treatment of osteoporosis? An IOF-NOF-ESCEO global survey, page 2
3 McCloskey2021_Article_GlobalImpactOfCOVID-19, page 39
4 https://www.nof.org/patients/diagnosis-information/risk-assessment-frax/#:~:text=The%20FRAX%C2%AE%20tool%2C%20an,your%2010%2Dyear%20fracture%20risk.
5 McCloskey2021_Article_GlobalImpactOfCOVID-19
6 https://www.who.int/director-general/speeches/detail/who-director-general-s-opening-remarks-at-the-media-briefing-on-covid-19---11-march-2020
7 McCloskey2021_Article_GlobalImpactOfCOVID-19, page 39
8 McCloskey2021_Article_GlobalImpactOfCOVID-19, page 42
9 Fuggle 2021 - How has COVID-19 affected the treatment of osteoporosis? An IOF-NOF-ESCEO global survey
10 Fuggle 2021 - How has COVID-19 affected the treatment of osteoporosis? An IOF-NOF-ESCEO global survey, page 1
11 Fuggle 2021 - How has COVID-19 affected the treatment of osteoporosis? An IOF-NOF-ESCEO global survey, page 5
12 Fuggle 2021 - How has COVID-19 affected the treatment of osteoporosis? An IOF-NOF-ESCEO global survey, page 6
13 https://www.osteoporosis.foundation/about-us#About-IOF
14 https://www.osteoporosis.foundation/news/covid-19-and-osteoporosis-20200325-0900, COVID-19 and Osteoporosis (bolded)
15 https://www.osteoporosis.foundation/news/covid-19-and-osteoporosis-20200325-0900, COVID-19 and Osteoporosis
16 Fuggle 2021 - How has COVID-19 affected the treatment of osteoporosis? An IOF-NOF-ESCEO global survey, page 1

© 2016-2019 Amgen Inc. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy Terms of Use

×

Voulez-vous vous connecter au Site Externe quitter www.amgen.ca?

Vous quittez maintenant le site Web d’Amgen. Veuillez prendre note que les renseignements auxquels vous aurez bientôt accès pourraient ne pas être conformes aux exigences réglementaires canadiennes. Les autorisations en matière de commercialisation et la disponibilité des produits peuvent différer entre le Canada et d’autres pays.

×

Voulez-vous vous connecter au d'autres sites externes et quitter www.amgen.ca?

Vous quittez maintenant le site Web d’Amgen. Veuillez prendre note que les renseignements auxquels vous aurez bientôt accès pourraient ne pas être conformes aux exigences réglementaires canadiennes. Les autorisations en matière de commercialisation et la disponibilité des produits peuvent différer entre le Canada et d’autres pays.

Ne négligez pas la santé de vos os pendant la pandémie

La santé osseuse est un aspect essentiel du bien-être global de chaque personne. En fait, Amgen Canada encourage depuis longtemps les Canadiens et leurs fournisseurs de soins à adopter une attitude proactive à l’égard de la prévention de l’ostéoporose.

Malheureusement, c’est plus difficile de le faire depuis le début de la pandémie de COVID-19, qui a causé l’interruption des routines et des services de soins de santé préventifs1. Selon la International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF), de nombreux patients ont reporté leurs visites chez le médecin, y compris les rendez-vous de routine et déjà prévus au calendrier qui auraient comporté des discussions sur la densité des os et un dépistage de l’ostéoporose2.

Chez Amgen, nous nous inquiétons de toute régression de la santé osseuse et espérons que les parties prenantes et patients d’un bout à l’autre du Canada porteront aussi attention à cet enjeu.

Données ‘préoccupantes’ pour le dépistage et le traitement de l’ostéoporose

Ce problème n’est pas seulement d’origine canadienne. Deux récentes études révèlent que certains aspects du dépistage et du traitement de l’ostéoporose ont été relégués au second rang pour les patients pendant la pandémie, peu importe leur continent de résidence.

Dans le premier article, publié dans Osteoporosis International3, les chercheurs ont noté une chute radicale du nombre de fois où les gens ont accédé à FRAX, outil d’évaluation des risques de fracture, à l’échelle mondiale. Cette chute coïncide avec la première vague de la pandémie dans de nombreux pays.

FRAX est un outil en ligne qui permet aux fournisseurs de soins d’aide les patients à répondre à une série de questions pour déterminer leur risque de fracture ostéoporotique ou de fracture de la hanche sur 10 ans4. (Vous pouvez poursuivre votre lecture ici pour vous familiariser davantage avec la gravité des fractures de fragilité et, par conséquent, comprendre pourquoi le test FRAX est un investissement en temps judicieux qui n’exige que quelques minutes.)

Selon cette étude, le nombre de séances FRAX a fléchi de 58 pour cent en avril 2020 (autrement dit, pendant la pandémie) par rapport à février 20205 (avant la déclaration de la pandémie par l’Organisation mondiale de la santé le 11 mars 20206 ). Les auteurs en déduisent donc que les évaluations de l’ostéoporose ont été interrompues pour de nombreux patients en raison de la COVID-19 pendant cette période7.

Au Canada, cette chute a été moins forte que la moyenne, mais elle demeure inquiétante, à environ 45 pour cent8.

La deuxième récente étude9 sur le traitement de l’ostéoporose pendant la pandémie démontre que celle-ci a causé une interruption des services de soins de santé et de la gestion des maladies.

Aussi publiée dans Osteoporosis International, cette étude consiste dans un sondage mondial effectué auprès de spécialistes de la santé. Elle révèle que l’interruption des services de dépistage et des soins ostéoporotiques soulève des craintes partout dans le monde.

Les fournisseurs de soins qui traitent l’ostéoporose dans 53 pays ont dit aux chercheurs qu’ils avaient, pendant la pandémie, été confrontés à une offre interrompue de médicaments, à des livraisons réduites de médicaments parentéraux (non-oraux) et à une diminution des examens de la densité d’une absorption biphotonique à rayons X (méthode DXA)10.

Faisant référence à la diminution de nombres d’examens DXA, les auteurs ont écrit ce qui suit : « Les données de notre sondage sont inquiétantes et elles suggèrent que les évaluations traditionnelles, qui représentant la norme de référence absolue11 [pour] les patients atteints d’ostéoporose, n’ont pas eu lieu, dans la majorité des cas, pendant la pandémie. »

Or, rien ne démontre qu’il y ait quelque raison que ce soit de continuer de retarder les examens DXA et d’autres procédures. « Malgré l’hésitation compréhensible des patients à se présenter à des rendez-vous en personne », disent les auteurs, « environ la moitié des fournisseurs de soins croient que les mécanismes de sécurité en place étaient suffisants pour atténuer les risques et permettre les rendez-vous en personne »12.

Soins ostéoporotiques pendant la COVID-19

Si de nombreux patients ont évité les rendez-vous médicaux pendant la pandémie, il reste que c’est plus important que jamais de consulter un médecin, y compris pour des rendez-vous portant sur l’ostéoporose.

Selon la International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF), plus vaste organisme non-gouvernemental voué à la prévention, au diagnostic et au traitement de l’ostéoporose,13 c’est essentiel pour les personnes atteintes de cette maladie d’éviter les fractures, surtout à l’heure actuelle, moment où les capacités des systèmes de soins de santé sont restreintes en raison de la pandémie14.

« Nous tenons également à rassurer toutes les personnes atteintes d'ostéoporose et celles qui prennent des médicaments pour traiter cette maladie : l'ostéoporose n'augmente pas le risque de contracter le coronavirus ou d'avoir de graves complications15 », exhorte l’IOF.

Quand les patients demeurent hésitants et d’autres barrières persistent, la télémédecine offre un remède possible (et partiel). Comme l’indique l’un des auteurs de l’étude, les médecins et les autres spécialistes de la santé ont rencontré plus de patients à distance depuis l’avènement de la COVID-1916 – et pourraient même continuer de la faire à mesure que la pandémie se dissipera.

Ce qui est évident, c’est que le dépistage de l’ostéoporose doit reprendre son cours dès que possible, d’une façon ou d’une autre. Amgen Canada espère que les fournisseurs de soins de santé et d’autres parties prenantes saisiront toutes les occasions possibles d’encourager leurs participants à participer à des soins continus adaptés à leurs besoins. La santé osseuse est trop importante pour la reporter à plus tard.

1 Fuggle 2021 - How has COVID-19 affected the treatment of osteoporosis? An IOF-NOF-ESCEO global survey, page 2
2 Fuggle 2021 - How has COVID-19 affected the treatment of osteoporosis? An IOF-NOF-ESCEO global survey, page 2
3 McCloskey2021_Article_GlobalImpactOfCOVID-19, page 39
4 https://www.nof.org/patients/diagnosis-information/risk-assessment-frax/#:~:text=The%20FRAX%C2%AE%20tool%2C%20an,your%2010%2Dyear%20fracture%20risk.
5 McCloskey2021_Article_GlobalImpactOfCOVID-19
6 https://www.who.int/fr/director-general/speeches/detail/who-director-general-s-opening-remarks-at-the-media-briefing-on-covid-19---11-march-2020
7 McCloskey2021_Article_GlobalImpactOfCOVID-19, page 39
8 McCloskey2021_Article_GlobalImpactOfCOVID-19, page 42
9 Fuggle 2021 - How has COVID-19 affected the treatment of osteoporosis? An IOF-NOF-ESCEO global survey
10 Fuggle 2021 - How has COVID-19 affected the treatment of osteoporosis? An IOF-NOF-ESCEO global survey, page 1
11 Fuggle 2021 - How has COVID-19 affected the treatment of osteoporosis? An IOF-NOF-ESCEO global survey, page 5
12 Fuggle 2021 - How has COVID-19 affected the treatment of osteoporosis? An IOF-NOF-ESCEO global survey, page 6
13 https://www.osteoporosis.foundation/about-us#About-IOF
14 https://www.osteoporosis.foundation/sites/iofbonehealth/files/2020-04/French-translation-Covid-19%26Osteoporosis.pdf, COVID-19 et l’ostéoporose, p. 1, 4e para.
15 https://www.osteoporosis.foundation/sites/iofbonehealth/files/2020-04/French-translation-Covid-19%26Osteoporosis.pdf, COVID-19 et l’ostéoporose, p. 1, 3e para.
16 Fuggle 2021 - How has COVID-19 affected the treatment of osteoporosis? An IOF-NOF-ESCEO global survey, page 1

© 2016-2019 Amgen Inc. All rights reserved.

Politique de confidentialité du site Web Modalités d’utilisation