×

Do you want to link to the external site and leave Amgen.ca?

You are now leaving the Amgen Canada website. Please note that the information you are about to view may not comply with Canadian regulatory requirements. Marketing authorizations and availability of products may differ between Canada and other countries.

×

Do you want to link to our other external sites and leave Amgen.ca?

You are now leaving the Amgen Canada website. Please note that the information you are about to view may not comply with Canadian regulatory requirements. Marketing authorizations and availability of products may differ between Canada and other countries.

A Scorecard for Osteoporosis in Canada and Seven Canadian Provinces

Osteoporosis affects approximately 1.4 million Canadians including an estimated 1 in 4 women and more than 1 in 8 men over the age of 50. However, according to A Scorecard for Osteoporosis in Canada and Seven Canadian Provinces, a recent study evaluating the burden and management of osteoporosis in Canada, there are significant provincial differences in the diagnosis, treatment, and care of osteoporosis across the country. Note: Although the researchers sought to include all 13 provinces/territories, they ended up selecting seven provinces based on availability of experts who were interviewed as part of the study framework.

About A Scorecard for Osteoporosis in Canada and Seven Canadian Provinces

The Canadian Scorecard was adapted from the Scorecard for Osteoporosis in Europe (SCOPE), an extensive analysis conducted for the 27 countries of the European Union (EU) in the 2013.

In addition to a national-level analysis, the framework was expanded to seven Canadian provinces (British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, and Newfoundland) in order to identify regional variations in osteoporosis care. This was important because, although Canada has a universal publicly funded healthcare system, the delivery of healthcare is primarily the responsibility of the provinces and territories.

Evaluating Canada’s Performance

Twenty elements related to osteoporosis management were scored across four areas: burden of disease, policy framework, service provision, and service uptake. While Canada performed well on several elements of osteoporosis care, including high uptake of risk assessment algorithms and minimal wait times for hip fracture surgery, there are currently no established fracture registries in the country, and reporting on individuals with high fracture risk who remain untreated was limited. Furthermore, osteoporosis is not an official health priority in most provinces

Making Osteoporosis a National Priority.

According to the study authors, interventions are needed to address provincial inequities in patients’ access to diagnosis, treatment, and fracture liaison service (FLS) programs in Canada. Specifically, they suggest Canada and its provinces would benefit from the creation of formal government action plans to support osteoporosis education and awareness; to establish fracture registries to monitor patient care; restructure reimbursement policies to align with clinical practice guidelines; and increase the distribution of fracture liaison service programs to less populous provinces.

Together, the study argues, we can help ensure the diagnosis, treatment and care of osteoporosis becomes a national priority and better support those Canadians living with the condition.

The infographic below offers additional detail about the Scorecard’s findings.

© 2016-2019 Amgen Inc. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy Terms of Use

×

Voulez-vous vous connecter au Site Externe quitter www.amgen.ca?

Vous quittez maintenant le site Web d’Amgen. Veuillez prendre note que les renseignements auxquels vous aurez bientôt accès pourraient ne pas être conformes aux exigences réglementaires canadiennes. Les autorisations en matière de commercialisation et la disponibilité des produits peuvent différer entre le Canada et d’autres pays.

×

Voulez-vous vous connecter au d'autres sites externes et quitter www.amgen.ca?

Vous quittez maintenant le site Web d’Amgen. Veuillez prendre note que les renseignements auxquels vous aurez bientôt accès pourraient ne pas être conformes aux exigences réglementaires canadiennes. Les autorisations en matière de commercialisation et la disponibilité des produits peuvent différer entre le Canada et d’autres pays.

Étude A Scorecard for Osteoporosis in Canada and Seven Canadian Provinces

L’ostéoporose touche environ 1,4 million de Canadiens, dont environ 1 femme sur 4 et plus de 1 homme sur 8 parmi les personnes âgées de 50 ans et plus. Cependant, selon l’étude A Scorecard for Osteoporosis in Canada and Seven Canadian Provinces menée récemment dans le but d’évaluer le fardeau associé à l’ostéoporose et la prise en charge de la maladie au Canada, il existe d’importants écarts entre les provinces quant au diagnostic et aux soins liés à l’ostéoporose prodigués au pays. Remarque : Si les chercheurs ont voulu inclure les 13 provinces et territoires, ils n’ont retenu que sept provinces en raison de la disponibilité des experts interviewés dans le cadre de travail de l’étude.

À propos de l’étude A Scorecard for Osteoporosis in Canada and Seven Canadian Provinces

L’étude canadienne Scorecard a été adaptée de l’étude SCOPE (Scorecard for Osteoporosis in Europe), une analyse exhaustive menée dans les 27 pays de l’Union européenne (UE) en 2013.

Outre l’analyse réalisée à l’échelle nationale, le cadre a été élargi à sept provinces canadiennes (Colombie-Britannique, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Québec, Nouveau-Brunswick et Terre-Neuve) afin de cerner les variations régionales qui existent dans les soins liés à l’ostéoporose. Bien que le Canada soit doté d’un système de soins de santé universel financé par les fonds publics, il était important d’avoir un portrait des provinces, car la prestation des soins de santé est principalement de compétence provinciale et territoriale.

Évaluation de la prestation du Canada

Vingt éléments associés à la prise en charge de l’ostéoporose ont été évalués dans quatre domaines : fardeau de la maladie, cadre politique, prestation des services et utilisation des services. Bien que le Canada fasse bonne figure dans plusieurs aspects des soins de l’ostéoporose, notamment l’utilisation répandue des algorithmes d’évaluation du risque et le temps d’attente minime avant la chirurgie visant une fracture de la hanche, il n’y a actuellement aucun registre des fractures établi au pays et la déclaration des personnes exposées à un risque élevé de fractures qui demeurent non traitées est faible. De plus, l’ostéoporose ne constitue pas une priorité officielle en matière de santé dans la majorité des provinces.

Faire de l’ostéoporose une priorité nationale

Selon les auteurs de l’étude, il est nécessaire d’intervenir pour remédier aux iniquités provinciales dans l’accès des patients au diagnostic, au traitement et aux programmes de suivi des fractures au Canada. Plus précisément, les auteurs avancent que le Canada et ses provinces tireraient avantage de la création de plans d’action gouvernementaux officiels visant à favoriser la sensibilisation et l’éducation au sujet de l’ostéoporose, de la mise sur pied de registres des fractures permettant de surveiller les soins prodigués aux patients, de la restructuration des politiques de remboursement afin qu’elles s’harmonisent avec les lignes directrices de pratique clinique et de l’offre élargie de programmes de suivi des fractures dans les provinces moins populeuses.

L’étude fait valoir qu’ensemble, nous pouvons contribuer à assurer que le diagnostic, le traitement et les soins de l’ostéoporose deviennent une priorité nationale et que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens aux prises avec la maladie soient mieux soutenus.

L’infographie ci-dessous offre plus de détails sur les résultats de l’étude Scorecard.

© 2016-2019 Amgen Inc. All rights reserved.

Politique de confidentialité du site Web Modalités d’utilisation